Agenda Item 3.A

MINUTES* SAN DIEGO CONVENTION CENTER CORPORATION BOARD OF DIRECTORS

BOARD MEETING JULY 9, 2024

BOARD MEMBERS Chair Jeff Gattas and Directors Shawn VanDiver, Sam Nejabat,

PRESENT: and Gretchen Newsom

BOARD MEMBER(S) Director Jaymie Bradford, Director Will Rodriguez-Kennedy,

ABSENT: and Director Alyssa Turowski

STAFF PRESENT: Rip Rippetoe, Mardeen Mattix, Corey Albright, Andy Mikschl,

Maren Dougherty, Michael Milligan, Victoria Mitchell, and Pat

Evans (Recorder)

ALSO PRESENT: Jennifer Lyon, General Counsel

1. Call to Order

Chair Jeff Gattas called the Board Meeting to order at 12:00 p.m. in the Executive Boardroom of the San Diego Convention Center Corporation, 111 West Harbor Drive, San Diego, CA 92101.

Chair Gattas then called roll to determine which Directors were present:

Director Gattas – Present Director VanDiver - Present Director Bradford – Absent Director Rodriguez-Kennedy – Absent Director Turowski – Absent Director Nejabat – Present

Director Newsom - Present

All Directors were recorded as present except Director Jaymie Bradford, Director Will Rodriguez-Kennedy, and Director Alyssa Turowski. Chair Gattas noted that all votes taken during this meeting would be recorded via roll call vote.

^{*}Meeting Minutes memorialize votes on "Action Items" and Staff Reports and are not a verbatim transcript of regular Board meetings. Audio copies of Board of Director meetings are available upon request. Please contact Pat Evans at (619)525-5131 or pat.evans@visitsandiego.com to request a copy.

2. Non-Agenda Public Comment – Chair Gattas inquired if any member of the public wished to comment on any non-Agenda items. No members of the public responded to the request for comment.

3. **Board Committee Reports and Board Action Items:**

A. Approval of a Resolution of the San Diego Convention Center Corporation, Inc. Authorizing an Extension of the Agreement with Centerplate/SodexoLive! and Authorizing the President & CEO to Sign the Extension

After presentation by staff, Chair Gattas inquired if any member of the public wished to comment on Agenda Item (3.A).

Ms. Lori Saldaňa submitted a speaker's slip requesting an opportunity to address the Board regarding Agenda Item (3.A), and she was granted an opportunity to address her comments to the Board regarding the date (July 8, 2024) on the SodexoLive! Work Force Report submitted with the Board packet and the inability of the Corporation to conduct a compliance review due to the submission date on the Report. Ms. Saldaňa also questioned how the Corporation would ensure that SodexoLive! does not have any infractions or incidents of discrimination on their record.

Director Will Rodriguez-Kennedy arrived on site at 12:06 p.m.

After presentations by Staff, public comment, and Board discussion, Directors VanDiver and Newsom moved and seconded, respectively, to Approve a Resolution of the San Diego Convention Center Corporation, Inc. Authorizing an Extension of the current Agreement with Centerplate/SodexoLive! and Authorizing the President & CEO to sign the Extension Agreement contingent upon Centerplate/SodexoLive! successfully completing their 2024 labor negotiations with Unite Here Local 30.

Director Gattas – Aye
Director VanDiver – Aye
Director Bradford – Absent
Director Rodriguez-Kennedy – Aye
Director Turowski – Absent
Director Nejabat – Aye
Director Newsom - Aye

Vote: Unanimous

AYES: 5 NAYS: 0 ABSTENTIONS: 0

- 4. **Board Comment** [Govt. Code § 54954.2(a) (2)] None.
- 5. <u>Urgent non-agenda items</u> (must meet the requirements of Government Code, Section 54954.2): None

There being no further business, the meeting adjourned at 12:17 p.m.

I, Alyssa Turowski, Secretary of the Board of Directors of the San Diego Convention Center Corporation, Inc., do hereby certify that the foregoing is a true and correct copy of the minutes of the business transacted by the Board of Directors of the San Diego Convention Center Corporation, Inc., at a duly noticed meeting held on July 9, 2024, and that said minutes were approved by the Board of Directors on August 28, 2024.

[Approved at Board Meeting of August 28, 2024] Alyssa Turowski, Secretary